THE SCHENGEN AREA, MYTH OR REALITY

General (ret.) Professor Anghel ANDREESCU, PhD*

Abstract: The Schengen Area was initiated following extensive discussions between France, Luxembourg, Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands. It was officially established through an agreement signed in Schengen, Luxembourg, on 14th of June 1985.

The signing of the Schengen agreement followed on the 19th of June 1990 and its enforcement started in 1995, removing the internal frontier controls among signing states, creating a single external frontier, with clear and common rules with respect to visas, migration, asylum, police cooperation, judicial or customs etc.

Keywords: the Schengen Area; European Union; migrants; migration routes; extradition; Frontex; Europol.

As we have shown in the summary above, Schengen Area was initiated after extensive talks among several states in Western Europe. Thus, 24 European states adhered to this structure, determining a certain freedom of movement of the people in the member states without internal controls, from Portugal to Poland, from Greece to Finland, etc.

Crossing the borders of a country can be assimilated to a sort of journey within a country.

Still, border control within the internal borders comprised in the Schengen Area can be introduced for limited periods in time, due to public order of national secularization, decision that is made at the level of each Schengen member state.

-

^{*} General (Retired Police Quaestor), member of the Academy of Romanian Scientists, e-mail: xwx52@yahoo.com